Songs for You

There are so many good songs out there in the world right now. Here are some of my favorites. Take a listen. Have a dance. Report back on what you’re listening to.

The Lumineers – Ho Hey. Love this song. When I’m tired of hearing of Florence + The Machine “You’ve Got the Love” as Husband’s ring tone, then I’m definitely switching to this one. “I belong with you. You belong with me. You’re my sweetheart.”

The Shins – Simple Song. I confess I haven’t watched this video so I can’t be held responsible for the content. If I were responsible, I would have watched the full video before I posted. But in truth, the song is so good I can forgive the content (unless something really awful happens and then I go back to having a disclaimer about not being held responsible for the content).

Young the Giant – My Body. Loves it.

LP – Into the Wild. Loves it more.

The Givers – I saw You First

Of Monsters and Men – King and Lionheart. Truth be told, I love their whole album. LOVE it. Preview it on iTunes and then buy it. It’s beautiful.

I’ve also recently bought Fun.’s album (alright), NEEDTOBREATHE’s album “Reckoning” (bought it several months ago, but me likey!), and The Lumineers self-titled album (bought it on Friday – good so far). I don’t usually buy many albums, we have a stellar local radio station that plays LOTS of my favorites without playing boat loads of commercials.

I couldn’t leave you on a post of favorite music without including a song from my favorite album of all time. It’s an oldie, but a goodie. And I love the way Matt Nathanson describes the entire album:

“Paul Simon’s, ‘Graceland,’ is a perfect album. I can’t believe that human beings conceptualized and executed such a perfect album. The lyrics, the melodies….completely original. Completely familiar. Completely transcendent. Music rooted in history, but beaming in from mars.”

Leave a Reply

