Yummy Brownies!

We’ve gotten in the bad habit of having dessert after dinner. It’s not necessarily a bad habit for everyone, but I’m not usually a dessert person, except that now I am and that’s bad. Instead of heading to the grocery store or somewhere to get a prepared dessert, I decided to make some brownies from scratch. These brownies are DELICIOUS! I think I found this recipe on cooks.com or maybe allrecipes.com. I wish I had flagged the site, but of course I didn’t. I used Ghirardelli unsweetened cocoa instead of the usual Hershey’s variety (though I’m sure those would be just as good). Here’s your ingredient list:

1/2 cup butter
1 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking powder

For the icing (optional):
3 tablespoons butter, softened
3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tablespoon honey
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup confectioners’ sugar

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour an 8 inch square pan.
  2. In a large saucepan, melt 1/2 cup butter. Remove from heat, and stir in sugar, eggs, and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Beat in 1/3 cup cocoa, 1/2 cup flour, salt, and baking powder. Spread batter into prepared pan.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 25 to 30 minutes. Do not overcook.

While the brownies are in the oven, start making the icing

To Make Frosting: Combine 3 tablespoons butter, 3 tablespoons cocoa, 1 tablespoon honey, 1 teaspoon vanilla, and 1 cup confectioners’ sugar. Frost brownies while they are still warm.

The kitchen is coming along very nicely! I painted all of the wood work (not the cabinets) to match the trim of the windows which is pure white. Tomorrow I’m going to finish painting the wooden beams and metalwork between the kitchen and living room, and sometime later this week I’m going to paint the built-in cabinets in the living room the same color as the kitchen walls. Pictures to follow! =)

0 thoughts on “Yummy Brownies!

Leave a Reply

