Ghost Babies!

I don’t know if you can clearly tell in this picture or not, but one of my Ghost Shrimp is preggo! I’m not entirely sure what to do with shrimp babies. Do I try to rescue and raise them or say “happy snacking” to the tank mates? The mom will eat the eggs too, not just the big fish.

My emotional side says “Save the babies!”

But my logical side says:

A. They’re not going to survive anyway. The Internet says they’re hard to raise,
B. The mom will eat them if the other fish don’t.
C. What the heck am I going to do with 1 bajillion Ghost Shrimp?? Even if 5 or 6 survived, that gives me a total of 9 or 10 shrimp. It’s not like they’re hard to feed or take care of, I actually don’t feed them at all because they scavenge food from the other fish and they do it quite well!

Oiy. I don’t know what I’m going to do just yet. The good news is that I have several days to decide.

The green blob in the middle of the picture are the eggs in the shrimp’s abdomen. There are a lot of eggs in there. The red blob in front of the green is the stomach (I think) and the other organs. They’re fascinating to watch.

 

 

Leave a Reply

