Paper Quilling & Trail Chasing

Monday I went hiking with two girlfriends to a pretty, relaxed >3 mile hiking trail. Or “nature walk” if you want to get technical, but let it be noted that you do walk up a hill to a nice overlook of the area halfway through. There are lots of dogs off leash so you really have to be careful not to get side swiped by a wet dog, but it’s a lot of fun and there are plenty of good water crossings to stop and watch the puppies play!

And it was a truly beautiful day for a walk. Below 60 until late afternoon, hardly a cloud in the bright blue sky.

See what I mean about “nature walk”? It was pleasant and fun to get out with the girls. After lunch we stopped by Fry’s to get some stuff for R. Don’t you finish every hike by going to Fry’s?

*******************************************

Monday afternoon when I had returned home from hiking I cleaned the bathrooms and started beaucoups de laundry. I also cleaned off my desk and found a paper quilling kit for an herb sampler stashed in my craft supplies. Wikipedia says:

Quilling or paper filigree is an art form that involves the use of strips of paper that are rolled, shaped, and glued together to create decorative designs.

…and,

During the Renaissance, French and Italian nuns and monks used quilling to decorate book covers and religious items. The paper most commonly used was strips of paper trimmed from the gilded edges of books. These gilded paper strips were then rolled to create the quilled shapes. Quilling often imitated the original ironwork of the day.

…and,

Today, quilling is seeing a resurgence in popularity with quillers (people who practice the art of quilling) on every continent and in every walk of life. No longer confined to the “upper classes”, this is a peoples art form and the beauty of the art is always expanding. The craft has become increasingly popular due to the low cost of the material.

Well it is low cost. The kit I found in my crafting stuff was marked clearance at $2.47 from Hobby Lobby. Taking that “low cost of the material” seriously. Here are the first two flowers I made:

Lemon Balm

Chives

I have ten more flowers to make to complete the sampler. It will probably take me forever. These are two of the easier ones (I think, I hope not) and they each took me several hours. It’s very tedious rolling tiny pieces of paper, but it’s very rewarding and fun to see how they turn out! Each of these flowers is about 2.5 – 3 inches long.

I organized all of the wrapping paper from Christmas this week and got it stored away in plastic totes. Thankful not to have it sitting in the floor of the office anymore. Now I need to take down the tree and Christmas decorations and get it up into the attic before February is upon us!

Leave a Reply

