New music for you!

Recently we’ve been listening to NEEDTOBREATHE. I heard them during KGSR’s live lunch hour set and really enjoyed the songs I heard. So much so, that I actually bought their CD on itunes. I hardly ever buy music – Pandora is my bff. But let me tell you something about this band’s album Reckoning:

It is amazing.

I love it the way I love Mumford and Sons’ first album. I listened to Mumford and Sons relentlessly for months, if not an entire year. But what I realized while on a mini road trip is that the two bands have a lot in common lyrically speaking. They’re not overtly Christian, nor do they claim to be “Christian rock” bands, but their message is truth. Their lyrics are allegories, metaphors and parables. The songs are stories –  meaningful, thought provoking and they stay with you when you turn the music off. You have to think about them, you want to think about them. And when you do, you start to see how brilliant they are.

Both bands also have so many good songs that it’s hard to pick a favorite. Ninety-five percent of the cd is my favorite. I can think of only one  or maybe two songs on each album that I’m not particularly fond of. But they’re still good.

Here are two songs from NEEDTOBREATHE’s album Reckoning that I’m really enjoying right now.

And this one:

 

Take my notions and words to heart 
This is the cry of a man 
I can’t bring you fortune or noble life 
But I’ll love you all I can 

Oh I know this song won’t do 
Enough to prove my love to you 
In my heart you’ll always know 
There is a place only love can go 
There is a place only you can go

Leave a Reply

