A Grace-Filled Woman

I want to become the full-grown, fully mature, grace-filled
woman that God envisioned before I was even born.

I want to be the full-size, grown-up version of
that wonder-filled baby girl He knit together
in my mother’s womb.

I want to be so in tune with Him and His thoughts and
ideas for me that I can know and celebrate on a daily basis
that I am fearfully and wonderfully made.

I want His dream for me to be a reality…

Jan Silvious, Big Girls Don’t Whine

I have some post-it notes that hang above my desk. I won’t get into the specifics of where they are because without you having seen my desk, it surely wouldn’t make sense to you. However, suffice it to say, there are some post it notes. I find them important. I find them important because they are encouraging and not only spoke to that time in my life when I needed to remember them and put them there, but also now, when I need to be reminded of these things. Things like:

“I am NOT God. I AM His child.” Or,

“‘For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.’ Ps 139:13-16.” And,

“‘Therefore, the promise comes by faith, so that it may be by grace and may be guaranteed to all Abraham’s offspring – not only to those who are of the law, but also those who are of the faith of Abraham.’ Romans 4:16.” And lastly,

“1. Faith is a quality of the fruit of the spirit. 2. Faith comes through hearing the word of God. 3. We can ask Christ to increase our faith. 4. Confess our unbelief and request help to overcome it. 5. We can grow in faith.”

Sometimes it is so hard to remember that first one: I am NOT God. But you would not believe how hard I try to be him sometimes. Having that faith like a child and surrendering the desire to lead God – instead of being led by God – is hard work. Especially when you have been stubborn since the day you were born. I want to be able to boast confidently in God’s love for others, as well His love for me.

Leave a Reply

