Win-Win

Today was a “win” day at work.

I would tell you why, but I’m afraid of breaking HIPAA and I like my job.

So, um, it was just good.

Roommate and I walked/ran yesterday evening when it had cooled off some. It was so nice to feel active again! And endorphins are kick-butt.

I’ve been reading back through my journal lately to see what God has been doing in my life. I find that the beauty of keeping a journal, a prayer journal at that, is that when I’m feeling discouraged or stupid, I can look back and see how God used previous circumstances to work out good. From 21-23 January ’10 in the midst of fruitless, frustrating job searching wherein none of the four dozen jobs I applied to acknowledged my existence (seriously):

“Lord, let my spirit run-free with you today, this week, this year. May I grow to be more like you every day, every minute. Work in me to perfect the things that I cannot. May your good works in me be poured out that you will be known and receive the glory. Use my circumstances to bring you praise. I love you greatly – for who you are in my life, not the things you bring to me. Help me to show you that love by loving my neighbors as myself, just as Christ commanded: ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart.’ And the second is just like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ … What has God shown me in my own life regarding His timing?…Where do I begin? It’s flawless. Literally perfect. That seems to be the lesson here over and over and over again.  But I, in my limited view of things, forget the legacy of His timing and I start to freak out when I can’t see a way out. Right now, I am in need of a job. I need an income so that I can stay in Austin. I need a paycheck so that I can keep paying bills on time and begin to work my way out of debt. I need, I need, I need…I need to trust God and believe in His sovereignty. When I remember God’s sovereign power, I feel at peace and can rest in the assurance of His eternal purposes. Why can I not remember? Lord help me to remain in you. Help me to trust your ways and your provision and to stop living by fear. Help me live by faith. Remind me often of your faithfulness. ‘You have brought all things together in Christ – things both in heaven & on earth. In Him, You have made us Your inheritance, predestined according to your eternal purpose – you work out everything in agreement with your will. Therefore, we who have put our hope in Jesus our Messiah praise his glorious name (Eph 1:10-12).'”

Today I needed to remember who has brought me this far. Today I ran so. wildly. free. in His love for me that I became an extrovert and began Loving people that I used to think were unlovable. And they would have to have been dead not to notice.

Psalm 145:5-7: ‘ O Lord, may we never lack desire to speak of Your glorious splendor and Your wonderful works, declaring Your greatness from one generation to the next. May we proclaim and celebrate the power of your awe-inspiring works, giving testimony of Your great goodness and joyfully singing of your righteousness.’ Amen.

Leave a Reply

